• Nigel Adkins has been given the Tranmere job on a permanent basis signing until the end of the 25/26 season. Continue the discussion here.

Gavin Ward's best XI

Ian

Super White!
Admin
Player
Aldo
Manager
Kingy
Nice little article for all forum posters and lurkers this week. White Review's boot sponsor, Gavin Ward selects his best XI made up entirely of players he's played with during his career.

Credit goes to The League Paper for supplying the article.

Goalkeeper
Nigel Spink - Retired
I have worked with some great keepers, but Nigel stands out for me as being a bit special. I was an apprentice at Aston Villa when Nigel was the first team number one and, in my eyes, he was different class. There were times at training when he was simply unbeatable. He dominated his box well, the ball would stick in his gloves and his technique was fantastic. He used to pass on tips to me and I was just in awe of him.​

Right wing-back
Graham Alexander - Preston
There's no doubt in my mind that Graham deserves a chance in the Premier League. He's played for Scotland for a few years and got plenty of experience under his belt. On the ball he's just different class. He's right footed, but he can use both feet and not many players can do that. He's Mr Dependable and could bomb on playing as a wing-back.​

Centre-half
Steve Walsh - Retired
Steve was a typical old-fashioned centre-half ­ he would go in and clear everything out, including the keeper if necessary, to stop the ball going into the back of the net. He was a no-nonsense player and a good leader. I played with him at Leicester and he was outstanding when we went up to the Premiership. He was a fantastic servant to Leicester and had the knack of popping up with some vital goals. He lives out in Spain now.​

Centre-half
Kevin Ratcliffe - Retired