• Nigel Adkins has been given the Tranmere job on a permanent basis signing until the end of the 25/26 season. Continue the discussion here.

posh v rovers

Player
aldo
I realy hope if we dont win. That we can draw it and then get a propper tv station who pay propper money. And not peanuts. But if im honest i wont us do beat them . Had to meney bad days at posh and at home . I will be there as norm . Just a hard thought 1-0 will do

Boz

Player
Iain Hume
The Posh ended a poor run by becoming the first side to beat Shrewsbury in L1 this season. They are in the top half of the table and although I've little knowledge of any of their squad, a key player would seem to be striker Jack Marriott. While their priority is promotion, you would expect them to field a fairly strong xi, though maybe resting one or two against non-league opponents.

Apart from the long-term absentees and the suspended Harris, Rovers have all options available. Damage limitation is important, as a starting point, my aim would be to avoid the kind of hammering which would de-moralise the side for league games ahead. However the 451 tactics at Aldershot brought their own difficulties and if we were to adopt that approach again, more support would be needed for the lone striker. My view would be that we're better with two up front and McDonagh's lack of aerial strength means, irrespective of his decent showing v Halifax, Cook should get the nod. Elsewhere, suspect Buxton will return, while it might be worth considering Duggan in a midfield role to compensate for the lack of Harris' bite.

Ticket prices aren't too bad, so even with our dismal record at London Road, I would think we'd get a decent travelling support. As it's the Cup, anything can happen, hopefully it will go in our favour.

Player
Jason Koumas / John Morrissey
Manager
John King